Choices in Life

I worked at the BPO industry for more than six years and I have been happy during that time. It was a great learning experience for me from the time that I got accepted as a technical support agent until I handled my own team. But now I am at a turning point in my life where I have to make a choice. Do I continue working and be assured of security in terms of regular paycheck, health insurance and career growth if albeit a slow one? Or do I turn this into an opportunity to make a dream come true?

Writing is a passion, it is something I am willing to do regardless if I’m getting paid or not. Of course the aim is to get compensation for work done. Now that an unforeseen situation has landed in my lap, do I treat it as a go signal?

My family is totally supportive of any decision. My husband agrees that I have the ability to make a success of whatever I choose to do (of course he sees me with rose colored glasses). My daughter who is a professional in her own right does not seem to be worried that her mom is going through a sort of midlife crisis. As I was contemplating my next move, I came across a picture that I sent to one of my previous agents at a time when I felt she needed my guidance. The picture comes with words that say “Any change, even for the better is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomforts”.

And that is completely true for me as well. I have long wanted to be a full time freelance writer but when I tried a year ago, I was scared and so did not give it a chance at all. I took a few writing contracts here and there, mostly article writing and blog contents. But I stuck to what is familiar and did not attempt to change with the times. I scrupulously avoided the requests for product reviews, blurbs and adult content which were in demand and would have made me at least a reasonable amount of money. After three months, I went back to being an employee, thinking that it is not a feasible option for me. Now, I have been given a second chance and I will take it. I will enjoy the ride and the respite from stress and I will not worry about what will happen. Wherever this road takes me, I know I will survive it.

3 thoughts on “Choices in Life

Leave a Reply

